AIRAH announces award winners – HVAC&R News

AIRAH has announced the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2021 at a black-tie gala event in Sydney. Leading figures from Australia’s HVAC&R setting up solutions sector took a long-awaited option to reunite and increase a toast to the standout individuals, assignments and products and solutions in the sector.

The winners, chosen throughout 13 types, exemplify the industry’s attempts to make the crafted setting a lot more sustainable, risk-free, healthful and inclusive. AIRAH’s greatest honour, the James Harrison Medal, was awarded to Health care provider Paul Bannister, F.AIRAH, for his work improving strength performance in structures, particularly by means of NABERS and the Countrywide Building Code.

AIRAH CEO Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH, states the function, rescheduled thanks to the pandemic, was truly worth the hold out.

“We appreciate the worth of meeting in person,” claims Gleeson, “especially for an occasion like the AIRAH Awards, exactly where the purpose is to applaud the best and brightest of our field, and increase a glass in their honour.

“This calendar year in distinct you could really feel the anticipation. It was the very first time lots of of us experienced viewed each individual other encounter to face for nearly two yrs, and we all had a lot to share.”

Gleeson states that there was also a good deal of positive dialogue about the potential.

“We recognise that the most significant challenges lie ahead – and we will have to experience them in a united way. Whether or not it be lowering the carbon depth of our structures or strengthening indoor air quality, we will will need to collaborate far more than at any time above the coming yrs and many years. Occasions like the AIRAH Awards help affirm our ties and frequent targets, and remind us of the crucial position we are poised to enjoy.

“To the winners and the finalists of the AIRAH Awards 2021, I offer you my congratulations.”

The winners of the AIRAH Awards 2021 are:

Very best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade

ESBS – ACT Educational institutions HVAC Updates

Excellence in Range and Inclusion

TAFE NSW – Refrigeration Training Part Ultimo Faculty

Excellence in HVAC&R Investigation

Keivan Bamdad Masouleh – Design Predictive Control (MPC) to Increase HVAC Procedure

Excellence in Innovation (Sponsored by Mitsubishi Electric powered)

Glaciem Cooling Technologies – Advancing Renewable Electrical power with Thermal Vitality Storage

Excellence in Refrigeration

Glaciem Cooling Systems – ARENA-WF Montague
Scantec Refrigeration Technologies – Fernhurst (joint winners)

Excellence in Sustainability (Sponsored by Superior Teaching Centre)

Aurecon and A.G. Coombs – 25 King Road

Foreseeable future Leader (Sponsored by A.G. Coombs)

Iain Stewart, Affil.AIRAH

Revolutionary use of Renewable Electrical power in HVAC&R

Glaciem Cooling Technologies – Advancing Renewable Electrical power with Thermal Power Storage

Product of the Yr (Sponsored by HVAC&R Lookup)

Camfil – Kaire Device

University student of the Yr – Better Instruction or Investigate

Ashfaque Chowdhury, Affil.AIRAH – Central Queensland College

Scholar of the Year – Trade (Sponsored by LG)

Jessica Lonsdale, Stud.AIRAH – BHP Nickel West/South Metropolitan TAFE

WR Ahern Award (Sponsored by Ecolibrium)

“Effective integration of polymer plate heat exchangers – A simulation examine for assessing their use in tall professional workplace buildings” – Dr Chris Menictas, M.AIRAH Arjun Adhikari, M.AIRAH Professor Guan H. Yeoh and Dr Victoria Timchenko (Ecolibrium June/July, 2020)

James Harrison Medal

Paul Bannister, F.AIRAH

For extra info about the AIRAH Awards 2021, like the winners and finalists, go to

AIRAH many thanks the Awards Gala Sponsor, Daikin, as effectively as person awards sponsors Mitsubishi Electrical, Excellent Coaching Centre, A.G. Coombs, LG, HVAC&R Look for and Ecolibrium.

Resource backlink

AIRAH Awards countdown – Excellence in Refrigeration

In the guide-up to the AIRAH Awards 2021 gala on February 17, HVAC&R News is profiling the finalists in different award types.

The Excellence in Refrigeration award recognises excellence in the retrofit or update to present refrigeration methods or the enhancement of new devices, or in the industry’s supply of services. Goods are not suitable in this group.

The finalists in this group are:

Glaciem Cooling Technologies

ARENA-WF Montague

Montague is 1 of Australia’s major fruit growers. Its new multi-use fruit processing facility in Narre Warren North, Victoria, every year procedures a lot more than 300,000,000 items of fruit, which are dispersed to markets throughout Australia and the planet. Glaciem has Installed the biggest CO2 heat pump in the Southern Hemisphere at Montague’s new facility, integrated with the site’s new ammonia/glycol program and two Glaciem Thermcold DYN 900 thermal storage models giving 4MWh of thermal strength storage. 

The warmth pump delivers 714kW cooling to the site’s -4°C glycol loop while simultaneously producing >80°C scorching water and 1.1MW heating (heating drinking water 35°C–83°C).

Scantec Refrigeration Systems


This centralised, twin-stage, minimal-cost NH3 refrigerating plant solutions a 60,000m3 mixed refrigerated warehouse with batch blast freezing.

The combination of refrigeration technologies applied is believed to be unique globally. This involves chilly lake air distribution, automatic ambient air defrost, no air coolers in the refrigerated space, stainless steel piping during, insulated coolers, no ducting, dry-enlargement NH3 feed, automatic mitigation of NH3 leaks from evaporators, specific NH3 inventory .66kg/kW, <25kg operating NH3 inventory in all evaporators combined, desiccant drying system for prevention of slippery floors, and compliance with best-practice energy performance benchmarks.

The winner in the Excellence in Refrigeration category and the other AIRAH Awards will be announced at AIRAH’s gala ceremony in Sydney on Thursday, February 17.

For more information and to register, click here.

Source link