Stefan Jensen

WR Ahern Award recognises pick of the papers

Throughout the getaway period of time, HVAC&R Information is featuring the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2022.

The AIRAH WR Ahern Award recognises the ideal technological paper by an AIRAH member revealed in Ecolibrium in excess of the prior calendar year.

This year’s winner was Stefan Jensen, F.AIRAH, for his paper “Best-exercise vitality effectiveness benchmarked for refrigerated warehouses”, posted in the August/September 2021 challenge of Ecolibrium.

Jensen’s paper highlights the raising great importance of minimisation of immediate and oblique emissions from all refrigeration and air conditioning plant. The triggers for this are the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol that has scheduled hydrofluorocarbon (HFC) refrigerants for a world-wide phase-down. The second global initiative is the Paris Local climate Treaty targeting carbon neutrality by 2050.

The paper offers recorded particular strength intake values for a range of refrigerated warehouses created in Australia from 1999 to 2019. These refrigerated warehouses change widely in terms of volume, temperature blend, use, refrigerant choice, and refrigeration plant notion. Unique vitality consumption (SEC) is described as the power use for every m³ refrigerated quantity for every yr [kWh/m³*a].

Within the paper, Jensen demonstrates that regardless of the important distribute in SEC-values for a range of refrigeration plant ideas, a obvious and predictable pattern emerges for one form of refrigeration plant in distinct.

The paper points out the components that impact the unfold in recorded electricity functionality values. It does so centered on realistic power intake documents pertaining to the many plant sorts reviewed in the paper and it reveals what SEC-values are virtually achievable.

Last but not least, the paper proposes a very best-exercise electrical power general performance benchmark for refrigerated warehouses in Australia. This proposal is dependent on genuine recorded values for a lot more than 20 installations accomplished given that 2013 in numerous Australian locations. The function of the very best-follow proposal is to provide refrigerated warehouse operators with a benchmark to measure genuine power performances from and initiate advancement actions that tackle inefficiencies.

Other finalists in the WR Ahern Award provided:

  • Simon Witts, M.AIRAH, and Sam Coleman – “Propagation of droplets in an HVAC system” (Ecolibrium – April 2021)
  • Dr Paul Bannister, L.AIRAH Hongsen Zhang, Affil.AIRAH and Dr Stephen White, F.AIRAH – “Potential effects of evaporative cooling technologies on Australian office environment buildings” (Ecolibrium – Might 2021)
  • Dr Craig Pregnalato, M.AIRAH – “Carpark mechanical ventilation – time to take functionality significantly?” (Ecolibrium – June/July 2021)
  • Hao Huang and Craig Roussac, M.AIRAH – “Next-generation fault-detection for professional building HVAC systems” (Ecolibrium – November 2021)
  • Grace Foo, M.AIRAH – “Planning for carbon neutral in current buildings” (Ecolibrium – Summer 2021)

The WR Ahern Award is sponsored by by Ecolibrium.

Additional info on the AIRAH Awards is available here.

Source backlink

Winners announced at the 2022 AIRAH Awards

AIRAH has declared the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2022 at a gala evening meal on November 24 at Luna Park in Sydney. Almost 200 sector leaders gathered on the night to celebrate the major people today, jobs and solutions of Australia’s HVAC&R sector.

AIRAH says it has been operating for many years to raise the profile of HVAC&R.

“For additional than a ten years, even when we experienced to go virtual for the reason that of the pandemic, AIRAH has held our once-a-year awards,” says Main Govt Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH.

“We are fully commited to shining a mild on the important and revolutionary function remaining completed in our marketplace.”

As very well as deciding on winners in 11 types, AIRAH awarded the James Harrison Medal – the Institute’s best honour. Dr Stephen White, L.AIRAH, gained the accolade this 12 months for his work on energy demand administration, the Lower Carbon Residing CRC, the ASBEC Sustainable Housing Process Group, and the ground-breaking Innovation Hub (i-Hub) for Economical Heating and Cooling initiative.

Gleeson says though it has taken time for the HVAC&R market to be properly recognised, that is established to adjust as we approach a climate tipping position.

“As the earth starts to understand just how considerably work is demanded to rein in our greenhouse gas emissions and prevent far more serious climate modify, individuals are looking for sectors that can make a distinction,” he suggests. “HVAC&R is a single of individuals. It is a complicated obstacle. But wanting at the winners and finalists of the 2022 AIRAH Awards, I think the HVAC&R business has what it can take.”

The winners of the AIRAH Awards 2022 are:

  • Best HVAC Retrofit or Improve: McClintock Engineering Group – Otto Hirschfeld Dissection Laboratory AHU upgrade
  • Excellence in Variety and Inclusion: Cundall
  • Excellence in HVAC&R Exploration: Preserve It – Actual-time model predictive command with digital twins and edge computing systems
  • Excellence in Innovation: AMP Money – Quay Quarter Tower
  • Excellence in Sustainability: Benmax – The College of Newcastle’s Q Constructing
  • Long term Chief: Mark Elliott, M.AIRAH
  • Progressive use of Renewable Electricity in HVAC&R: Conserve It – Exceptional scheduling of air conditioning programs with renewable power resource and thermal storage
  • Item of the Yr: Smartair Diffusion – Smartemp Helical Vari-Swirl Diffuser
  • Scholar of the 12 months – Greater Schooling or Study: Jason Jarvinen, Stud.AIRAH – College of South Australia
  • University student of the Year – Trade: Renzo Antonio Munster, Stud.AIRAH – PHW Expert services
  • WR Ahern Award: “Best-practice electricity efficiency benchmarked for refrigerated warehouses” by Stefan Jensen, F.AIRAH – Ecolibrium, August/September 2021
  • James Harrison Medal: Dr Stephen White, L.AIRAH

A comprehensive record of finalists and far more details about the winners is obtainable at the AIRAH Awards web page.

Source website link